counter Back to top

Fellowships, Outstanding Teaching, Leadership, and Service Celebrated at BLS

On May 1, the Boston Latin School community gathered to honor excellence in leadership and service. The celebration included recognition of student fellowships, Crystal Apple Awards, and individual/group awards for leadership and service.

Student fellows were recognized from the:
Julius E. Babbitt '87 Memorial Fellowship, Deitch Leadership Institute Fellowship, Seevak Human Rights Fellowship, and John William Ward Public Service Fellowship.

The Crystal Apple Awards, which recognizes excellence in teaching as voted by students, were presented to four faculty members.

Musical selections were provided by the Philharmonic String Orchestra.

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership and Service
Class I - Anya Hershenson, Holly Gillis, Jerry Han, Adam Crellin Sazama
Class II - Donna Gee, Daisy Wang, Ellen Gebreselassie, Eliza Fleming
Class III - Rujal Chitrakar, Sam Sullivan, Xiangan He, Karen Mai
Class IV - Christian Leriche, Mariam Sirage, Gwen Trueblood

Rising Student Leaders
Class V - Dorothy Russell 
Class VI - Zoe Colimon 

Student Organization of the Year
BLS Theatre

Student Organization - Service to the Community
Bsie Committee

Impact on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Student - Mateo Daffin
Faculty/Staff - Dr. Vanessa Prosper
Student Organization - BLS Gospel Choir

Crystal Apple Outstanding Faculty Awards
Cate Arnold
Judi Freeman
Michael Howard
Jesse Southwick

Deitch Leadership Institute Fellowship
Morgan Frost – New England Conservatory
Jenna Goldblatt – U.S. Attorney’s Office
Emily Jerome – Community Servings
Brianna Li – Southworth Development
Ethan Liu – Eversource Energy
Christine Shi – From the Top
Jasmine Wong – Commonwealth Financial Network
Alice Wu – ClearSky Data
Muxi Yu – Boston Planning & Development Agency
Tiffany Yu – Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum

Seevak Human Rights and Social Justice Fellowship
Lucia Catino – Women’s Lunch Place
Samuel Cheever – United Nations Association of Greater Boston
Mateo Daffin – United Nations Association of Greater Boston
Noah DeLaski – Community Labor United
Azhani Duncan-Reese – Paraclete Center
Gabriella Finocchio – Corporate Accountability
Mayowa Hassan – Women’s Lunch Place
Jasmine Nguyen – Paraclete Center
Sabrina Nieves – City Life/Vida Urbana
Victoria Peterlin – Physicians for Human Rights
Jess Schnitzer – Paraclete Center
Morgan Stevenson-Swadling – Jobs with Justice
Meredith Zielonka – Mass Housing

John William Ward Public Service Fellowship
Yanxi Fang – U.S. District Judge Mark Wolf H’90 (Coordinator)
Maymuna Rahman – U.S. District Judge Patti Saris GLS ’69
Libby Wu – Governor Charles Baker
Umang Bansal – Attorney General Maura Healy
Luceille Humphrey – Inspector General Glen Cunha
Charles Ma – House Speaker Robert DeLeo ’67
Olamide Adeyre – State Senator Sonia Chang-Diaz
Prescott Herbert – State Rep. Adrian Madaro WF ’06
Charlotte Terrass – State Rep. Jon Santiago
Sarah Knotts – School Building Authority Director Jack McCarthy ’76
Nikita Fils-Aime – Suffolk County District Attorney Rachel Rollins
Daniela Londono – Suffolk County Sherriff Steven Tompkins
Ajani Boyd (Julius Babbitt ’87 Memorial Fellow) – CPCS Chair Anthony Benedetti ’83
Kingston Herbert – Boston Mayor Martin Walsh
Lindsey Dieudonne – Boston City Council President Andrea Campbell ‘00
Owen Sullivan – Boston City Councilor Matt O’Malley WF ’96
Elizabeth Spy – Boston City Councilor Michelle Wu
David Flagg – BPDA Director Brian Golden ’83
Isabella Tran – Boston Globe Interim Editorial Page Editor Shirley Leung

Posted on May 2, 2019